Our Board

Julie Wells

Julie Wells May Gibbs Board ChairJulie Wells was appointed Chair of the Trust in May 2018. She began her career as a secondary school teacher, before becoming a children's librarian in public libraries.

She did this for about 12 years, followed by 6 years in which she returned to schools as a teacher librarian.

Julie has been highly active within the CBCA SA. She is Company Secretary of the CBCA where she was the National President between 2010 and 2012. She has also been a board member of the SA Writers Centre.

Julie joined the board of the Trust in May 2016. She also serves as chair of the Trust's selection committee.


Meredyth Sarah AM

Meredyth Sarah May Gibbs Children's Literature Trust

Meredyth was appointed to the Board in May 2018.

She has experience in organisational governance, serving in a voluntary capacity on various Boards and Committees. She was a member of the original May Gibbs Children’s Literature Trust Support Group in South Australia and has maintained an interest ever since.

She is married with four children and eight grandchildren.

Meredyth believes that good literature, especially for children, is essential for increasing language skills, knowledge and imagination. She also believes that the work of the Trust in encouraging young authors and illustrators is an important way of ensuring the continuing creation of good literature for children of all ages.

Nicholas Linke

Nicholas Linke May Gibbs Children's Literature Trust

Nicholas has been a Board Member since May 2018. He is a Senior Partner at Fisher Jeffries, commercial lawyers, where he practises in employment and insurance law and commercial litigation.

Nicholas was formerly a Committee Member of Raising Literacy Australia Inc. for over 10 years (formerly The Big Book Club Inc.) and currently serves as the Chair of Restless Dance Theatre Inc. and SALA Inc., and sits on the Boards of Adelaide Central School of Art Inc, the Adelaide Fringe Inc and the Centre for Creative Health.

He has an LLB (Hons) and BEc from the University of Adelaide.

Diane Nicholls

Diane was appointed to the Board in February 2019.  Diane was born in Renmark. After study at the University of Adelaide and Wattle Park Teachers College, she commenced her teaching career in Elizabeth.  After 17 years with the Education Department of South Australia, she was appointed Head of Abbotsleigh, an Anglican boarding school in Sydney. In 1996 she returned as Head of St Peter’s Girls School and remained there until 2007.

In retirement she has been an active volunteer at St Peter’s Cathedral and maintain links with St Peters Girls. Writing two books, the story of her father and the story of her mother has taken many hours and given her much joy. Her current project is the story of the Nicholls family.  Travelling regularly to Melbourne to visit two granddaughters is an important component of her life.

Diane says, "It is a privilege to be part of the May Gibbs Children’s Literature Trust."

Leonie Clyne

Leonie Clyne

During her years in the 1970’s at Flinders University studying Psychology, Leonie took a gap year and worked in the Children’s Section of our State Library.  Working with Juliana Bayfield and surrounded by the best of children’s literature, her love of children’s books and their influence on the young was ignited.  Her five granddaughters are surrounded by beautiful books, and Leonie hopes to encourage, during her involvement with the Trust, new and quality publications.

As a successful business woman, former Deputy Chancellor of Flinders University and a past and present director on a number of Boards, Leonie brings to the Trust a wealth of experience and knowledge to share.